What to do with those overripe bananas?

Folks, there is no fruit I love more than the delectable banana.  I honestly can’t understand how my brother or The Pioneer Woman despise them.

The only fruit that comes close to its glory is the pineapple.  However, the acidity of the pineapple cuts up the inside of my mouth, so I’m limited to a slice or two at a time.  How sad.

But this post isn’t about my sad pineapple woes, it’s about bananas.

For the longest time, I thought banana bread was the only option for those overripe bananas.

Then I discovered the joy and wonderment of bananas foster oats for breakfast.

I also frequently make banana smoothies for breakfast…

…so a chocolate banana milkshake for dessert was not far from my mind.

1 banana, 2 scoops vanilla ice cream, 2 splashes milk, 2 squirts chocolate syrup, and blend

Still, I felt limited by my overripe bananas, so I consulted with The Internet (aka tweets from @HeyNanaBread).  She suggested banana boats in the oven.  Now I’ve done banana boats over the campfire, but I would have never thought to recreate it in my kitchen!

Simply take a banana (peel intact) and slice it in half lengthwise.  Stuff it with chocolate, marshmallows, and graham cracker crumbs.  Then wrap it in tinfoil and pop it in a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.

What do you do with your overripe bananas?

-Mads

5 thoughts on “What to do with those overripe bananas?

  1. Wahoo! Way to rock the banana boat! I’m a big fan of Bananas Foster on anything. Beyond that, I usually hoard my ripe bananas for my favorite cream cheese banana bread recipe. And there’s nothing wrong with that. I’m on a strawberry kick lately, and your smoothie is calling my name.

  2. I couldn’t agree more about bananas! LOVE them! I currently have 8 on the counter that went from green to over-ripe in 12 hours. I think banana boats are calling my name. I also like to peel them, break them in half, add a popsicle stick, and freeze. Once frozen, dip in melted chocolate and roll in something crunchy & tasty (like crushed pretzels) for Monkey Tails.

Leave a comment