Perfect Fudge Brownies

Last week a group of food bloggers threw an internet bake sale to raise money for Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America.  Through generous bids, we ended up raising a total of $1,680!  
 
I made “Perfect Fudge Brownies” for the event and I’ve listed the recipe below. 
 
Image
 
Since I deemed them “perfect”, I had to go through MANY iterations of these brownies before I actually “perfected” the recipe.  I called in my food blog pals to assess why the first few attempts were so cakey (too much leavening with baking powder).  Then I had to remove eggs and add chocolate to increase the fudge factor.  It really was a process. Finally I found the winner!  These bad boys are fudgey, chocolatey, gooey perfections of your traditional brownie.
 
You will need:
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp pre-made coffee 
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1.5 sticks butter
  • 1/3 cup cocoa
  • 1 scant cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a 13 x 9″ baking pan.

Melt butter and chocolate over low heat until smooth.  Set aside. 

IMG_5595

In a large bowl mix sugar and eggs.  Add coffee, vanilla, and slightly cooled chocolate mixture. 

Combine cocoa, flour, and salt in a separate bowl.

Slowly add dry ingredients to chocolate mixture until completely combined.  

photo 3 copy

Pour batter into greased pan.  Bake for 25-30 minutes (mine took exactly 27 minutes).  

IMG_5655

Once cooled, you can top with powdered sugar or frosting.  I prefer them plain and still warm from the oven.  Mmmmm

Thank you to everyone who shared and participated in the bake sale!  
 
-Mads

5 thoughts on “Perfect Fudge Brownies

  1. I simply can. not. wait. to make your brownies, Mads. Loving the fact that you developed the recipe with a 13 x 9 pan because let’s be honest, when it comes to brownies, anything smaller is just a single serving. Your ingredients cast shot is beautiful!

  2. Well I am the lucky recipient of these Perfect Brownies and they are delish. Mads thank you so much. If I knew you were so close I would have been willing to meet you half way so you wouldn’t have to mail them. But again thank you sooooo much. The only thing is they are going in the freezer. I started a 30 day challenge on Sunday and gave up sugar…LOL dangit!! But I did eat two … okay 3 today when I got them. :O)

    • I’m glad you liked them. I’m so so very sorry to hear you are on a 30 day challenge. My thoughts go out to you. hehe I hope the brownies survive!

Leave a comment