OKMH: Picnic Themes of Summer

Hello friends!

This month’s One Kitchen Many Hearts box was “picnic” themed to get us all amped up for the long days of summer.  Is it just me or are this year’s “long days of summer” turning into the fastest most non-existent days of summer ever?  It’s already July!

OKMH Collage 2013

 

Top:  Allison , Beka & Jeanne  Center: KatKirsten  Bottom: Me & Megan

I had big plans to spend most weeknights this summer lounging with a book on the balcony and most weekends lounging by the beach.  Unfortunately, I have been working 50 hour weeks and the weekends have been so packed with activities that I can’t even think straight.  Don’t get me wrong, I love doing things on the weekend, but this summer isn’t exactly the lounge-fest I envisioned.

I know that the goodies Kat sent me in the OKMH package will help simmer me down after a long work week.  She knew just what I needed to slow myself down and enjoy each moment summer has to offer.

Kat sent me a lovely box filled with some goodies from her recent trip to the South.

Southern picnic fair

 

The goods:

  • Dillon’s gourmet pecan roll
  • Old Savannah Spice Co. crab and shrimp boil (in a bag!)
  • Adorable little spoons…for caviar?  Coffee stirrers?  They’re so cute, I will probably use them for everything.
  • Red velvet, frosted cupcake, and salted caramel swirl taffy!

I’m not sure I’ve ever had taffy before, but I can honestly say this stuff is addicting.  Unfortunately, the taffy came in an unmarked white paper bag, so I’ll have to hunt her down for the source.  Fingers crossed it was from a chain that exists in California.

I also can’t wait to test the shrimp boil out on 4 pounds of shellfish.  YUM!  One of my first trips out to visit California included dinner to a crab boil restaurant.  They handed us some plastic bibs, a heaping pile of hand wipes, and a huge bag of boiled crab, sausage, corn, and shrimp.  It was so garlicky and glorious that the memory burned into my brain.  Mmmmm garlic shrimp mmm buttery corn mmm

Hrm? Where was I?  Oh, something about how excited I am to attempt a crab boil at home with this kit!

Thanks for the love, Kat!

Has summer been flying by for you too?  What are you most looking forward to this summer?

-Mads

5 thoughts on “OKMH: Picnic Themes of Summer

  1. Pingback: OKMH–Picnic Edition | Comfortably Domestic

  2. TEENSY SPOONS!! Love them! And the part about taffy in “unmarked paper bag” like it’s drugs or something. “Just put the taffy in a bag and leave it in the park. I’ll leave the money under the bench…”

  3. RED VELVET TAFFY?????????? I need to find this location immediately. Also the salted caramel taffy? Let’s take a road trip to this magical taffy making location. And OMG YES CRAB BOIL!!!!! We do low country boils from time to time, but we rarely do crab ones (because we are cheap). That sounds amazing, and you need to to it stat!

Leave a Reply

