Home Remedy Mythbusting: The Garlic Chronicles

I recently started working with kids.  They put all sorts of crap in their mouths, they cough and snot all over the place, and depending on the age, they don’t really know how to wash their hands properly.  Which means, I get sick approximately every 32 seconds.

Apparently my immune system is supposed to build a wall of defense to this new germ pool, but I know my immune system, it doesn’t get out of bed to fight off ANYTHING.

As I was reading one of my new favorite blogs, Dance While You Cook, I came across an
interesting home remedy for the common cold: garlic!

My favorite food, flavoring, side dish, you name it, is garlic.  So I couldn’t wait to try this recipe.

Chop 2 cloves of garlic and put it in a tablespoon of honey.  Eat.

Well folks, I’m here to tell you it is not as fun as it sounds.

I kind of wish somebody was a witness to the whole ridiculous shenanigans, as I was gagging up honey and trying not to narf in the kitchen sink.  Dance While You Cook mentions that “chasers” for this home remedy are a must, and she is absolutely right.

My "chasers" included my breakfast and an extra Baby Bell cheese. I thought that garlic and cheese would be a winning combo, but this did nothing to kill the horrible raw flavor in my mouth. And holy crap! That bowl of cereal looks HUGE!

My tummy felt pretty yucky for the next few hours and I had the garlic breath, but I’m here a day and a half later with no new symptoms!

I force-fed this to Jonathan.  He ate it without plugging his nose or flinching.  There were no chasers for him and he simply shrugged his shoulders and looked at me like i was crazy.

Then it hit his tummy and I was fully validated.

This remedy is not for the weak of heart.

Even typing this post has me a little queasy.

I just hope garlic and i can be besties again soon.

-Mads

p.s. What’s your favorite home remedy for the ishy gishy cold?

6 thoughts on “Home Remedy Mythbusting: The Garlic Chronicles

  1. Haha. ..Interesting post, though I’m not sure how you thought garlic and honey would be nice together in the first place. Next time try hot jameson whiskey with honey and a bit of hot water. BUT beware, if you get silly and have too much whisky you will not only kill off all the bad bacteria but the good as well! (…which will lead to all sorts of new problems… and you will have to fight the whiskey with probiotics). I am so glad you have health insurance.

    • I didn’t think it would be good, I just didn’t think I would be gagging in the kitchen. Thanks for the tip! I think I will try that this morning 😉
      Nothing like a bit of whiskey to liven up your Saturday.
      I miss you.
      We should drink whiskey together.

  2. I have not tried this remedy, but am tempted (even with your warnings)
    🙂
    I always take echinacea with garlic when I feel a sore throat coming on. I really find that it helps prevent the sore throat from getting worse. But the garlic is so strong that I have to have breath mints and gum on me at all times!

Leave a comment