The Latest Attempt at Groceries

So…a week after my promises to do better  at grocery spending, I DID!

The greatest part about the whole experience is that we had no coupons, no list, and spent less than 40 minutes shopping…SAY WHA?!?  I know.  I have no idea how that worked out.

En totale we spent $100 on groceries.  I know, I know, I said less than 60 bucks in my last post.  WELL, 50 of this was booze!!!! (Oh and we definitely are not counting booze as a grocery item.  Jonathan chooses to call it a “lifestyle choice”.  I am more inclined to think of it as a “need” like toilet paper.  To each his own.)

Things we did right?

-Cooked up our food from last week in big batches and froze it, which allowed us to focus on fresh produce this week instead of staples.

-Looked for steals in the back corner where they keep the cheapo items.  Find this place in your grocery store!

-Really really looked at the sale items and what was in season.  For some reason red peppers were 79 cents this week and green pepper was $1.29.  Guess which one is going on our fajitas?

Whew!  I feel like I’ve accomplished something.

Let’s hope we can keep this momentum up for next week.

-Mads

p.s. Don’t forget to enter my FALL GIVEAWAY!  Just comment, tweet, or blog about it (or do all three) for your chance to win an Ina Garten cookbook and a rolling pin 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Latest Attempt at Groceries

  1. Gold star, lady! If red peppers are el cheapo right now, I would roast some and store them in oil?

    If it makes you feel better, we bank booze as a separate expense category as well 🙂

    • that’s a great idea. and yes, it does make me feel better. Although, the fact that we spend twice as much on booze as we did food makes me nervous. hehe *nervous laughter* *tugs collar*

    • hahaha word.

      Costco booze is a real win.

      Also, I don’t know if you have Ralph’s by you, but they give you 10% off if you buy 6 bottles. Although, if you love wine as much as me, you probably already know that.

      Any cheap favorites?
      Mine are:
      Casillero Del Diablo Merlot. A crowd favorite and it’s usually under 9 bucks.
      Chateau St. Michelle Riesling. I love sweet whites, so this is right up there.
      Barefoot Sweet Red. I don’t like Barefoot wines in general, but this one is nummy. Perhaps it just reminds me of college days with “chillable red” Franzia. haha gross

Leave a Reply

