One Kitchen, Many Hearts: Box 3

My blogging friends are at it again!  We send boxes of goodies to one another every other month, and this month did not disappoint.

(Top left to bottom right: Me, Kirsten from Comfortably Domestic, Megan from Wanna be a Country Cleaver, Jeanne from Inside NanaBread’s Head, Allison from Decadent Philistines Save the World, Kat from Tenaciously Yours)

When I was a freshman in college, I received one care package in the mail from my grandma.  It was the only thing that had come in the mail during the first six months I was living in the dorms, so I couldn’t wait to open it.

So I hopped into the elevator with my box, ignoring the group of attractive dudes riding up the elevator with me.  I ripped open the box and pulled out a bright neon blue frog puppet.  That’s right, I was standing in the elevator with a giant frog puppet and my jaw hit the floor.

Needless to say, these boxes from my bloggy friends are way less embarrassing and way more fun to open!

This month’s box was from Kat at Tenaciously Yours (who is also my sorority sister) and I loved every bit of it!

The gourmet food accoutrements in the package were to die for.  I mean, how can you not love pink salt?

That’s right. Pink. Salt.

Truffle oil has never appeared in my kitchen, but I like to think I make food that’s good enough for a quick spritz from time to time.  Or you could just spritz it right into your mouth.  Both options sound good.  (p.s. Don’t give truffle oil fries to your dog.  Your dog will explode for 2 days straight.  Awful, awful times for Josie.)

Don’t you just love the strawberry patch detail on this dish towel?  Completely adorable.

Strawberry fields forever.

As a fellow Minnesotan native, Kat knows how important it is to take advantage of bright summer days with grilled foods and chilled beers  So I was pretty excited to see this awesome grilled burger topping in the box:

Holy yum!

I think the theme of this box is actually “Things I Will Put on Everything”.  Case and point: vanilla sugar.

Look at all of those vanilla bean nums!

Finally, as if that all weren’t enough, she tossed in some oat bars!  I don’t know about you all, but I can’t look another Lara Bar in the face.  Maybe I’ll eat another one a few years from now, but today I’m all about these oat bars.

Great box!  Great friends!

Do you do anything with your friends to stay in touch and show the love? 

What do you use truffle oil for, if not for making your dog sick?

-Mads

7 thoughts on “One Kitchen, Many Hearts: Box 3

  1. Pingback: One Kitchen, Many Hearts – June Edition « Comfortably Domestic

  2. You know it’s a good box when, as you’re scrolling down, you find yourself saying “Ooooo…that looks awesome!” or “Man, I’d love to try that!” Thanks for the tip on the truffle oil & dogs. Haven’t tried it yet, but now I’ll know to keep it away from The Zigster. Yikes!

    PS – Tahitian Vanila Sugar? I’d be all over that.

    • Doesn’t the vanilla sugar have a nice ring to it? I wish I had an ice cream machine because that would definitely make an appearance in some homemade vanilla.

  3. I have never used truffle oil, but if I ever do, I’ll be sure not to feed Daisy fries made with it. Poor Josie! Love the pink salt and the fact that it’s labeled “Jurassic.” Makes it kind of bad-ass, somehow.

    • I know! I thought 1 fry couldn’t hurt and she was looking at me with those sad eyes. Too bad I was wrong, 1 fry turned into an awful mess.

      This Jurassic salt is totally badass. It’s not overly salty, so it’s perfect with everything. 🙂

  4. I have a container of vanilla sugar at all times. We (I) consider it a necessity, although mine is not nearly as fancy as Tahitian vanilla sugar. But it’s a nice change from cinnamon sugar.
    The salt – pink AND badass? Want. And I agree with Jeanne – you know it’s good when you basically want the same things.
    What fun this has been so far!
    I will make sure I note the truffle thing. Zooey needs nothing else in her life to upset her delicate coonhound gastrointestinal tract.

  5. I was dying when I read about Josie and the Truffle Fries. Maybe spritz it over pasta and salads as alternatives? Also, having never used Pink Salt, it’s good to know that it’s…milder? I’ve been dying to source some for a while.

Leave a comment