Graduation

Hello internet friends,

I finally graduated from my masters program!  Two and a half years flew by, but it also felt like an eternity, if that makes any sense.  My classmates and I went out for drinks after our last class of the program and that was the moment I started to have an existential crisis.  I have been in academia my entire life (with only a brief hiatus to move across the country) and I’m not sure what life looks like without it.  I will certainly enjoy not having to walk back and forth across campus all day, but there’s something about school that always reels me back.  While everyone else was celebrating and cheersing, I was wondering what the hell I was going to do with my life and what goals I had for myself.  Switching gears to something new is hard and scary!

This sunset pic taken from my balcony felt appropriate here.

This sunset pic taken from my balcony felt appropriate here.

It seems like I should be able to enter the world of full-fledged adults at this point, but I still have to complete 4,000 supervised clinical hours before I can get licensed as a therapist.  I’m 1/8 of the way there! haha

My plan is to search for full-time employment at a job where I can continue to collect clinical hours.  If I don’t have luck there, I will try my hand at starting a private practice, but it’s a dog eat dog world out there.

In the meantime, I plan on taking a long vacation.  Rejoice!

I’ve already started celebrating my exodus from academia by feasting with friends.  With more free time, I plan to blog a bit more and to spend some time fueling my creativity (probably by reading and taking photographs).

Have you ever switched career gears?  What made it easy or challenging?

-Mads

 

Leave a Reply

