Pineapple Pie for Pie Week

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s Pie Week on this little corner of the internet.  We did a similar Pie Week last year and it was so successful, we decided to do it again!  Plus, who doesn’t need more pie?

pineapple pie

As of this week, it was 90 degrees in California, so baking a toasty warm apple pie seemed out of the question.  I decided to get a bit more tropical and try making a pineapple pie, which I had never tasted before.

Disclaimer:  It turns out I don’t like pineapple in a pie, but my four taste-testers disagreed.  They loved the pie and told me I needed to put it up on the ole blog. 

The recipe was very simple to put together.  I used Kirsten’s fail-proof “No Excuses Pie Dough” recipe for the crust.  Her recipe takes approximately 5 minutes to throw together and it freezes beautifully.  That recipe single-handedly helped me conquer my fear of pie-making.  Now that I know how simple it is, I want to make pie every day.  Plus, the filling came together in no time at all.

For the pineapple filling, you will need:

  •  1 pineapple chopped small (or canned diced pineapple)
  • 3 Tbsp. pineapple juice
  • 2 Tbsp. corn starch
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Step 1: Beat together butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla.

Step 2: Stir in pineapple, juice, and corn starch.

Step 3: Fill pie crust and cover with second crust.

Step 4: Crimp the edges of the pie with your fingers or a fork.  Cut 4 small slits in the pie crust.

Step 5: Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

I topped mine with a simple whip cream and toasted coconut.  To toast the coconut, simple heat shredded coconut in a pan over medium low heat until lightly golden brown.

IMG_6293

Enjoy!

Have you ever had pineapple pie?  What is your favorite tropical pie?

-Mads

p.s. Don’t forget to check out all of the wonderful pies being made for Pie Week.  Check them out each day this week:

Monday:

Tuesday:

Wednesday:

Thursday:

Friday:

Saturday:

9 thoughts on “Pineapple Pie for Pie Week

  1. Mads…I am with your taste testers….I would LOVE this pie! I’ve never had a baked pineapple pie before but everything about it is so right. Right down to the toasted coconut on the whipped cream! The closest I’ve come to a tropical pie before is key lime….if you can call that tropical! Ha! Yours is just beautiful! : )

  2. I have never had a tropical pie before and definitely not pineapple pie! Next summer when the pineapples return to my small grocery store, I’m totally going to try this!

  3. Ok girl–I think you and I need to get together with our tropical pies and have a little party!🙂
    This looks great! I think it will be served in my neck of the woods very soon. A pie is one way i haven’t tried pineapple yet! Thank you. And ALOHA!

  4. I make pineapple pie in the winter….with crushed pineapple thickened on the stove with a little sugar and a little nutmeg, maybe a little lemon extract and a little melted butter. I pour it into a pre made pie shell and bake about a half hour. I like it.

Leave a Reply

