Reading Rainbow Roundup

Hello loves,

I recently posted a “to read” reading list, and I was actually able to read a handful of them.  Rejoice!  I thought now would be a great time to report back, as we are finally getting into the post-holiday lull.

Are you feeling the lull?  Truth be told, this semester is whipping by, but I could definitely use a little more fun reading time in my life.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed
Click image for original source. From cherylstrayed.com

Click image for original source. From cherylstrayed.com

Wild is a true memoir about a young woman who hits rock bottom in her life and spontaneously decides to hike the Pacific Crest Trail (a treacherous mountain trail from Mexico to Canada) by herself.  As a first time hiker, she has to dig deep within herself to keep moving forward and to conquer all of the crazy adventures that meet her on the trail.  It was really well-written and will make you laugh and cry.  I am nothing like the main character, yet she is completely relatable.  You need to read this.
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Juliet Ashton
Click to be redirected to original source at Mazurkaplan.com

Click to be redirected to original source at Mazurkaplan.com

Kat recommended this book long ago and I avoided it for so long because it has a stupid title.  Seriously. I am embarrassed to tell people how good this book is because the title is so goofy.  However, this was a wonderful book!  It’s about a writer who is looking for writing material after WWII.  She finds a little town chock full of stories of how a group of friends survived the war together through books.

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

Click to be redirected to original source at Wikipedia

Click to be redirected to original source at Wikipedia

The Poisonwood Bible was on Oprah’s book club list, so you know it’s a little intense.  It’s about a family who goes to the Congo for missionary work and the story of how their family falls apart.  It shows you 5 different perspectives (it’s narrated by 5 different characters in the story) on religion, family, marriage, and other big-life issues.  I thought the characters were fairly static, but I think that was probably Kingsolver’s intention, in an effort to show 5 perspectives that can all exist within 1 person.  At least, that’s how I interpreted the book.  This book is definitely a conversation-starter and will challenge your own belief system.

Do yourself a favor and read them all.  Immediately.

What are you reading now?  Have you read any of the books I listed?  If so, what did you think?

-Mads

3 thoughts on “Reading Rainbow Roundup

  1. Hi Mads…..Well of all of these books, I do have The Poisonwood Bible but have yet to read it. The book Wild….sounds like an absolutely must read for me. I would recommend two books to you….Bliss by O. Z. Livaneli and The History of Love by Nicole Krauss….both pretty gut wrenching for me and two of my most favorite books. I am currently reading a biography on Virginia Woolf….and then I’m going to tackle her works!

  2. We just read Wild in my book club – I really enjoyed it! Slowly making my way through The Poisonwood Bible. . .I keep putting it down for other things.

Leave a Reply

