My Reading List

Hello everyone!

 

Having a month off from school gave me some time to evaluate my fun reading materials.  Most recently, I got halfway through the second Game of Thrones book and decided I did not need to read the book AND watch the show, so I gave up.  I normally read the book if it turns into a movie, but I couldn’t justify spending that much time on an entire TV series and a series of books.  It was exhausting.

 

For the time being, I’m going to read a few books that are not a part of a series.  Phew!  I received a few recommendations from friends that moved to the top of my reading list.
I typically read historical fiction, popular fiction, sci-fi/fantasy/epics, and non-fiction…so…most things.

 

Here’s what’s on my list so far:
Tender at the Bone: Growing Up at the Table by Ruth Reichl
Click image for original source. From thebooklion.wordpress.com

Click image for original source. From thebooklion.wordpress.com

The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
Click image for original source.  From goodreads.com

Click image for original source. From goodreads.com

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
Click image for original source. From bookishbent.blogspot.com

Click image for original source. From bookishbent.blogspot.com

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
Click image for original source. From goodreads.com

Click image for original source. From goodreads.com

Dry by Augusten Burroughs
Click image for original source. From thebookcellarnh.wordpress.com

Click image for original source. From thebookcellarnh.wordpress.com

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggars (also What is the What)
Click image for original source. From bookswim.com

Click image for original source. From bookswim.com

The Thing About Life Is That One Day You’ll Be Dead by David Shields
Click image for original source. From barnesandnoble.com

Click image for original source. From barnesandnoble.com

Wild by Cheryl Strayed
Click image for original source. From cherylstrayed.com

Click image for original source. From cherylstrayed.com

Life Among Giants by Bll Roorbach
Click image for original source. From lifeamonggiantsthebook.com

Click image for original source. From lifeamonggiantsthebook.com

There are definitely more to read than this, but these particular ones caught my eye.  I’m taking a few on my Kindle for the honeymoon and I’ll report back with my thoughts.
What have you read lately that you fell in love with? 

-Mads

One thought on “My Reading List

  1. I heard an interview about Wild – it sounded really interesting! I’d also love to read the Eggers book – heard amazing things about it. HRH still takes so much of my time that I don’t have much reading time, although I have to get through The Scarlet Pimpernel for school (again). Thankfully, I have that on the iPad. I also joined a running reading group, so hopefully I can get those done.

Leave a Reply

