One Kitchen Many Hearts: Secret Santa

Happy holidays, my fine internet friends!

It’s time for another One Kitchen Many Hearts (OKMH) post from my sisters around the internet:

OKMH pic

Top left to bottom right: Me, Kirsten, Megan, Jeanne, Allison, and Kat

The holidays at our house were filled with family, holiday ham, presents, and Christmas jammies.  It has also been filled with runny noses, which did not bring out much holiday cheer in myself or my husband.  But nothing could have warmed my heart more than opening my Secret Santa OKMH box from my friend Jeanne (aka Inside NanaBread’s Head)!!!

Guess who?

Guess who?

There were squees of delight happening all over Twitter and Facebook when I found the box in my apartment.  The package arrived right after finals week had destroyed me, so the timing was perfect.

When I opened it up, my jaw about fell off my face.

secret okmh

Can’t you feel the love spilling out of every inch of this box and through the computer screen?  I mean, really.  There was so much care an attention paid to the details of this box that I wanted to fly to Texas just to give Jeanne a hug!

Somehow she remembered that my previous Christmas was void of any real decorations, so she MADE ME A TREE FULL OF HAND CRAFTED ORNAMENTS.  My heart grew 3 times that day.

Josie ran over and instinctively knew there was something in the box for her.  I thought she was charging over to eat the ornaments, but she simply grabbed the squeaky toy meant for her and went about her business.  It was hilarious!  I wish I had a better picture or even a video of that moment, but alas, this is all I have:

secret okmh

I immediately put the ornaments up.  They are all adorable, but here are some of my absolute favorites:

Collages2

Love penguins? An owl holding a Christmas tree? Josie the pug?  C’mon!  Too cute!

Jeanne also found some goodies that were perfect to warm up our holiday season:

Nums

Nums

IMG_0590

This gingerbread candle is amazeballs and has been burning every day since we got it! I highly recommend this scent as a holiday gift.

IMG_0624

I painted my nails Christmas red.

She also included a homemade batch of the best gingerbread cookies in the world.  Jonathan doesn’t usually like desserts (wha?), but he was asking for these cookies like crazy.

2012-12-13

Jeanne made our Christmas extra Christmas-y this year, which was really the best gift I could have asked for.  Without snow on the ground and my family close by, it was really special to have some new traditions to start with my new family.

Thank you, Jeanne!

What was your favorite gift this holiday season?  What is your favorite tradition for Christmas?

-Mads

p.s. Check out what I gave Megan at Wanna Be a Country Cleaver.  To sneak a peek at what the other ladies got, visit Tenaciously Yours, Decadent Philistines Save the World, and Comfortably Domestic.

 

8 thoughts on “One Kitchen Many Hearts: Secret Santa

  1. I am so, so happy you loved your box. Your response made me tear up. Making someone else’s Christmas merrier is the greatest gift of all. Seriously. The blurry snap of Josie grabbing her squeaky gingerbread girl made me laugh out loud. How did she know? It’s just too funny. I’m thrilled you loved it all, and I’m over the moon that the timing of it all was so great for you. Just when you need some love, a OKMH box appears. SO MUCH LOVE! Happy OKMH-mas to you, Jonathan & Josie. -j

  2. Oh Mah GAH!! Those ornaments are incredible! I’m speechless. The little Josie is, of course, my favorite, but the monogrammed penguins are a very close second. Amazing gift, Jeanne! Your apartment must be so cozy & festive, Mads. 🙂

  3. Seeing these ornaments, now all of your text messages when you got your box make absolute sense. I cried reading about them. How wonderful. I can also imagine the terror on your face when Josie dove into that box!

    Happy OKMH-mas, Mads. Someday, I will see these ornaments on your tree in person.

Leave a Reply

