Strawberry Crepe Au Lait

Hello, and welcome to CREPE WEEK!

This week is brought to you by the internet and the lovely people at America’s Test Kitchen.  If you aren’t obsessed with their tv show and online recipe gallery (like Jonathan), then maybe you have heard of them from something called Cook’s Illustrated.  Basically, these food geniuses test recipes until they are perfect, so you don’t have to.

And sometimes the host dresses up as a giant broccoli, but that is an entirely different matter.

We’re pairing up with them by using their basic crepe recipe and offering our own special twists.  If this recipe interests you, I highly recommend checking out the ATK cookbook GIVEAWAYS listed at the bottom of this post.

Hopefully you continue reading, and don’t simply skip to the end now.  Shoot, I shouldn’t have mentioned the GIVEAWAYS so early.

ATK’s Crepe Ingredients. Yes, that cow gives us milk. Yes, that is the biggest lemon in the world. Yes, those eggs are sweating. Don’t ask me what’s going on in this picture.

The ATK recipe was easy as pie.  Easy as crepe?  It was easy.

The consistency is thinner than pancake batter. Don’t be frightened by this.  

Seriously though, the crepes were as easy as pancakes.

I’ll stop now.

First crepe down! I like em a little on the brown side. I’m not sure Chris Kimball would approve of my improvisation.

I can’t think of anything better than strawberries and cream during the summer, so I knew my crepe recipe had to include both.

To start, I made a warm strawberry sauce to smother over the top of the crepes.  I put 1 Tbsp cornstarch, 1 Tbsp sugar, 1/4 cup lemon juice (or water), and 1 pint strawberries over medium-low heat for 15 minutes.  Once the berries released all of their juices and the sauce started to thicken, I strained the sauce into a separate container and set aside.

(Caution: Do not make more than 1 berry sauce in a day.  Your kitchen will die of dirty dish overload and your brain will explode.)

Then, I whipped 1 cup mascarpone, 1 cup heavy cream, zest of 1/2 lemon, and 1/4 cup sugar together to make a cream filling.

zee lemon zest! I felt this picture was particularly artistic. haha

Then it was all a matter of assembly.  I smeared some whipped filling on half of the crepe and added a little extra lemon zest.

Can you tell that it turned overcast outside?  Hopefully that lemon zest made it bright enough for you!

Then I folded up the crepes into adorable edible napkin shapes.  I’m surprised none of my blog friends made swan-shaped crepes, but I digress.

After the napkin-folding ceremony, I simply topped the crepes with some fresh berries and drizzled some strawberry sauce over the top.

 

These were easy, but it is not a weekday breakfast.  I dirtied every dish in my kitchen and Josie the pug had to eat a lot of strawberries off the floor.  That being said, I wish every weekend was filled to the brim with strawberry crepes au lait, because they were delicious!

Have you ever made crepes?  What is the best crepe you have tasted?

-Mads

 

Check out these other fabulous crepes (links marked with an * also have GIVEAWAYS!!!):

Comfortably Domestic-Tuscan Crepes*

Country Cleaver-Grand Manier Berry Crepes*

Tenaciously Yours-Southwestern Crepes with Cilantro Pesto

Inside NanaBread’s Head-Lemon Cream Crepe Cakes for Two

Climbing Grier Mountain-Pork Belly and Wild Mushroom Crepes*

Munching in the Mitten-Blueberry Ginger Crepes a la mode

Bakeaholic Mama-The Vermonter Crepe*

The Hill Country Cook-Blackberry Orange Crepes*

The GromMom-Prosciutto Asparagus Crepes with Mango Cream

Decadent Philistines Save the World-Roasted Red Pepper and Goat Cheese

From My Sweet Heart-Red Velvet Crepes with Sweet Mascarpone Cream

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Crepe Au Lait

  1. Mads….these look wonderful! When you ask what my favorite crepe is……well I can tell you it’s usually filled with strawberries! Your sauce looks luscious and it really makes them bright and pretty! I love how you write, you had me smiling throughout this post! I can’t think of anything better than eating ‘edible napkin crepes’ with ‘berries from the tub’! LOVE it! : )

  2. I love the strawberry & cream cheese combination, especially with that sauce. I can practically smell it. I’m wondering now if I ‘creped’ wrong – I only used 2 bowls & a skillet, along with one saucepan for my lemon sauce. I’m such an underachiever. Next time, I’m going big and making a mess. Just for the fun of it. And I’m using your strawberry recipe to do it.

  3. Mads, I so love when we food blog things. And I love that you used the creamer-cow for all the world to see. I definitely froze a few crepes after all of the cookery was done – I may just have to whip them out of the freezer for this. Let’s all pray they defrost well, mmkay?

  4. 1. Love the cow creamer.
    2. Love your colorful whisk.
    3. Really love your strawberries & cream crepes.

    My favorite crepes usually involve fruit, cream, and hopefully a little chocolate. I laughed out loud about your dishes! Only because my kitchen look like a little woodland troll sneaked in when I wasn’t looking and through all of my pans, utensils, and ingredients all over the place.

Leave a Reply

