Winter break loves

It feels like a long time since we’ve caught up!  I am at a point where I have so many things to write about at once, that nothing is taking shape.  Tricky, I know.

Instead of regaling you with twisted tales of the winter course load I’m currently in the midst of (hello, domestic violence and drug abuse), I will keep things upbeat!  Here are some of the most fabulous things I fell in love with over winter break:

1) Immersion blenders

I actually made soup specifically to test out the blender.  I don’t know when I’ve ever had that much fun in the kitchen.  A side note, this curry sweet potato soup is delicious.

2) Moonshiners

This is one of the most horrific shows on television, but I Can’t. Stop. Watching.  My eyes were glued to the tv for several hours while I watched the antics of Tickle and Popcorn (yes, those are their names) play out in backwoods Virginia.  Jonathan pointed out that they would probably increase profits astronomically if they legalized their business, branded it, and distributed it.  I’m not sure Tickle and Popcorn would ever come up with a solid business plan.

3) Hue Slippers

The image doesn't even come close to how adorable these are.

These were in my Christmas stocking and I haven’t taken them off since Christmas morning.  I plan on buying them in all colors.

4) Hanna

Uhm, this movie was AWESOME!  Child assassin, incredible soundtrack, great acting…what more could you ask for?  This is the best action movie I’ve seen in a while.

5) Wedding planning (the fun parts)

I will post the engagement pictures as soon as I get them in the mail, but for now, just know that we had THE BEST TIME posing for the camera.  I’m pretty sure we’re going to start part-time modeling for the photo frame insert pictures.

Also, taste-testing the catered meals is also a major highlight of getting married.  They practically had to roll us out of there.  Mmmm!

What have you recently fallen in love with?  What was your favorite holiday gift?

-Mads

p.s. I forgot to add Adele.  You probably already knew that I love her, but I really want to emphasize how incredible she is.  Seriously, I can’t stop listening to her music/singing in the shower.

10 thoughts on “Winter break loves

  1. I got a Cuisinart Single Serve Brewer, a Nespresso milk frother and a buttload of K-cups for Christmas. And I am IN LOVE – hard. I can’t get enough of those foamy lattes every morning. I find myself getting up earlier each day just so I can run down and have great coffee in mere seconds. It totally rocks. It’s the coffee bar of my dreams. Wanna come over for a cup? (Bring Josie, if you do, or Ziggy is going to be totally miffed.)

    PS – Immersion blenders = great milkshakes

  2. I want an immersion blender! Scratch that, I would like a blender PERIOD. Mine is a piece of junk and only works so well. It takes me sooo long to make simple smoothie.

  3. Oh, Moonshiners sounds right up my alley. And I can’t wait to see the engagement pictures (no pressure or anything :)). Also, on a scale of 1-10, how would you rate the comfort level of the Hue slippers? Just curious.

    • I would rate them a 10! The sole is bendable, so it’s not like walking around in shoes. They’re also breathable, so your toesies don’t get sweaty. I seriously love them.

  4. Ohmigod. Immersion blenders are the best invention ever. There are some things that a food processor might be better for (dough, for example), but the fact that you only have to clean one piece makes it a wonder-appliance.

  5. If I were any more in love with my immersion blender, I would be charged with bigamy. That thing ROCKS! Try it to blend anything with eggs like for french toast and/or pancakes– no more globby egg whites in anything!

Leave a Reply

