What I’m not doing

1. Sitting beneath the glow of the Christmas tree with a warm mug of Schnapps cocoa.

2. Baking holiday cookies while Jonathan plays Christmas music and we laugh about the flour I got on my face.

3. Going on a long walk with Josie while the brisk winter winds nip at my nose.

4. Taking a hot bubble bath with a glass of wine and a few bites of dark chocolate.

5. Christmas shopping.  Or thinking about Christmas shopping.  Or even thinking about maybe someday Christmas shopping.

6. Taking a few seconds to take care of myself, have fun, exercise, or even shower.

7. Writing witty and interesting blog posts.

 

What am I doing instead?  WRITING A PAPER THAT MAKES ME WANT TO RIP MY EYEBALLS OUT OF MY HEAD.  

Happy holidays,

Mads

17 thoughts on “What I’m not doing

  1. I know you’re stressed out, but I had to laugh at this post. Maybe it was the “RIP PARTS OFF MY BODY” ending followed by “Happy Holidays!” Hang in there, Mads. A break is coming just around the bender.

    • hahah I felt so delirious at that moment, I was going between intense anguish and maniacal laughter at the whole thing. I’m glad I made a blog post of the insanity.

  2. I’ve been crying lots lately too. I think it’s all of the Reverb-ing that’s happening. I highly recommend joining in for a post or two if you have the time. Very cathartic stuff.

    But it’s also that time of month. Who knows, really.

  3. Very funny. Plus, it makes me glad I am probably done with school forever (from the self-as-student standpoint, anyway). I’ve been at the “rip eyeballs out of head” stage more times than I care to recollect. This too shall pass. Eventually.

    Best wishes! 🙂

    • I’ve got 2 more years of “ripping eyeballs out”, but I think it will be good for me? Ugh, probably not, but it’s the most uplifting thing I can think of. haha

Leave a Reply

