Baking in preparation for PIE WEEK!

The votes for PIE WEEK keep coming in, but berry has been in the lead, so that’s what we’re going with.  I will be making Snozzberry Pie, which will be some mad combination of several berries.

In preparation for PIE WEEK, I have been baking desserts like a mad woman!

For starters, I made Cooking Light’s Peanut Butter Cup Blondies:

Image Courtesy of Cooking Light (click to be redirected to the original recipe)

I doubled the amount of peanut butter cups.  I realize that sort of defeats the “cooking light” aspect of the recipe, but it had to be done.

Upon request, I made TWO more batches of these, for a total of three batches in one week.  That’s got to be some sort of dessert record.

This peanut butter madness was followed by PW’s Milky Way Cake.

Image courtesy of The Pioneer Woman (click to be redirected to the original recipe)

This one calls for 3 sticks of margarine and 11 full-size Milky Way bars.  Yup.  So there’s that…

I got one vote for “This is the best cake I’ve ever had”, one vote for “The flavor isn’t my favorite”, and two votes for “It’s decent”.  Ignore the grammar in that sentence, and glean what you will from the votes.

There is still half a pan left.  Glean what you will from that.

I like the word “glean” today.

What’s your favorite dessert of all time?

-Mads

p.s. Pies are blowing up this corner of the internet for PIE WEEK (yes, PIE WEEK always has to be typed in caps)!  Check out Comfortably Domestic for a cheddar apple crumble, and InsideNanaBread’s Head for fried banana pies.  Mmmmm

6 thoughts on “Baking in preparation for PIE WEEK!

  1. Baking Peanut Butter Cup Blondies and Milky Way Cake as a tune-up for Pie Week. Well, you’re either a baking genius or a diabetic nightmare. Could go either way. (Those blondies are calling my name now. Thanks for that.)

  2. I like the idea of having to warm-up to Pie Week. That’s what I’ll chalk the past few weekends of baking up to as well. The PBCup Blondies do look drool-worthy.

    And yes, berry pie is an excellent call – it will be a perfect contrast to all of the other madness.

Leave a Reply

