Fall recipes I’m dying to try

Fall always gets me in the mood to bake, roast, and mash all of the best comfort foods.  There’s nothing like curling up with a bowl full of homemade chicken soup or digging into a slice of piping hot apple pie.

This fall, I’ve decided to commit to a new approach.  I’m going to make recipes that I’ve never attempted before.  This could result in epic failures, but I have a feeling it will be more delicious than anything else.

Here’s what I’m committed to making this fall:

Miss InsideNanaBread’s Head’s POSOLE!  NanaBread is on a vacation from blogging, but I promise she is worth checking out when she comes back.

Mexican-style stew with hominy

Pam’s pie crust for apple pie (featured on The Pioneer Woman).  I have never made my own crust (shhhh), but I am determined to try this flaky goodness.  I have also never ventured into baked fruit pies, but apple pie is in the game plan.

101 Cookbook’s Easy Little Bread.  My track record with bread is not stellar.  Usually I end up with a cement lump or a dough ball of goo.  This no-knead bread promises that it will be easy and totally doable for a baking beginner like me.  101 Cookbook is a great blog with BEE-U-TI-FUL food photography.

Comfortably Domestic’s Mediterranean Inspired Chicken Wraps with Dill Cucumber Sauce.  Jonathan and I have been on a Mediterranean kick and anything by Comfortably Domestic is sure to be a win.

Kitchen-tested and children-approved

(Click on any of the pics above to find the original recipes.  These pictures are all from the bloggers linked in the text.)

Hopefully I remember to post my adventures in these dishes here, but let’s face it, I frequently forget who I am and what I’m doing.

Are you trying out any new recipes this fall?  What’s your favorite blog source for recipes?

-Mads

5 thoughts on “Fall recipes I’m dying to try

  1. Not a new one – we have a bunch of hamburger thawed (roughly the equivalent to a side of beef) and if I don’t deal with it, it’s going to come alive in the ‘frig. It’s probably going to be a big pot of chili – offsetting the lack of chorizo with some hot peppers left from salsa making this summer.

  2. Oh man, Pioneer Woman’s site gives me major food envy. I find myself eating while looking at her site, it’s like I want to trick my brain into thinking I’m eating her mashed potatoes or something.

  3. I rarely cook anything new so I rarely need recipes. But whenI do I head to allrecipes.com – I love all the reviews and ratings! It makes most things foolproof.

  4. Whoa – my posole made your list! That’s awesome. I hope you love it as much as we do. We’re just back from vacation, and I’m craving soups and good bread. I’m thinking of taking on lentil or split pea with German sausages in it, and a good hearty Bavarian rye on the side. Or a rustic, crusty round loaf of something. As long as it’s hot and smothered in butter, I’m in.

  5. Oh, man! I crave roasted, mashed, preferably with a little cream kind of foods in the fall. I also have NanaBread’s Posole on my list. Of course, I have a feeling that it may not be as good if I don’t have TCP to smoke up a side of pork so that I can use it in the Posole the next day. That’s my excuse, anyway. I think we need a TCP Cooks on the Road! segment. My problem is that I either cook the same 10 things for months, or I cook something different every day for months & we can’t remember what we liked.

Leave a Reply

