Where will you be in 10 years?

When I was a tot, there was no doubt in my mind I would be a doctor when I grew up.  Specifically, a medical examiner.

I was a morbid kid.

In high school, my girlfriends would huddle together around a bonfire and play the “where will everyone be in 10 years” game.  I was 16 at the time, and by now I was living in Minnesota, popping out 2-3 ginger kids (my friends specified that my kids would be crazy and unmanageable…I’m still not sure why), and working as a writer.  Mind you, this was what my friends had planned for me and not exactly what I had picked out for myself.

By the time college came around, I knew that I had ZERO interest in chemistry, which meant my dream of cutting up corpses was gone.  I finally found some interesting psychology classes and threw in an English major for good measure.  My dreams were to become a profiler like BD Wong in Law & Order: SVU.

This brings us to right now.  I’m not a medical examiner nor am I BD Wong.  I realized that my dreams have always been about helping people and getting justice.

Does that mean I will work with cops?  Does that means I will work with criminals?  Does that mean I will work with victims of crimes?  I have no idea, but I’m getting a Masters in Counseling so that someday I might be able to help someone.

In the meantime, I’m living in Cali and I have zero ginger babies.  Most likely, my kids will pop out Asian, but that won’t happen for a long time.

Did you ever play the “where will you be in 10 years” game?  Are you doing what you always dreamed of doing?

-Mads

p.s. Thanks for the topic, Bea!

11 thoughts on “Where will you be in 10 years?

  1. In 10 years I will be spending summers in MN teaching my grandbabies how to water ski. And I’ll be spending my winters in CA learning Chinese as a second language with my other grandbabies. Sounds GRAND to me.

  2. I think I need to learn Chinese with your mother. It’s a good 10 year plan goal.

    In all seriousness, I had no real vision of what I wanted my life to look like. But I would say right now, things are pretty darned good.

    • That’s awesome. I feel like my hopes and dreams have had the same themes throughout my life, but I’m learning more and more about what I specifically want to do.
      But then there are days when I want to be an animal rescue worker, chef, columnist, tour guide, etc. Ahhh well.

  3. I used to play this game! And it certainly didn’t turn out the way I thought. In 10 years I’ll be 38 (yikes) and I hope to have my own freelance writing business, live somewhere warm, and travel a lot.

    • Not bad goals! I can’t even think 2 years in advance right now, let alone 10. *gulp* I like to adopt the hippie mindset of “It’s all about the journey, man.”

  4. Life takes funny turns. When I was a kid, I wanted to be a writer. Then I turned sensible, and took two university degrees, one in economics and one in business. I went on to work for over 10 years, then left to raise my kids. Oh yeah, and what am I doing now? Writing books!

  5. You would be an excellent BD Wong-like profiler. Only cooler, and funnier. I never played the 10 year game per-se, but after a winding career path, I am doing exactly what I am meant to be doing. I never dreamed that I would be where I am, but I’m sure glad I am!

Leave a Reply

