Reading Rainbow Roundup

I’m in the middle of one of those “I-have-zero-creative-bloging-energy” weeks.  I even dug through my drafted posts to find something of interest, but I came up with a whole lotta nuthin.  So, instead of regaling you with tales of my latest meals of Trader Joe’s salads or something equally snooze-inducing, I thought I would do a book review.

I recently went on an Amazon book-buying binge.  (I can’t help myself with the alliterations today.)  Mostly I bought books that you lovely readers recommended to me or books that have been on my “to read” list forever.

Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert (the author of Eat, Pray, Love)

I’ve read both Committed and Eat, Pray, Love and my criticisms of Elizabeth Gilbert’s writing style are ultimately the same.  She comes off as whiny, hypocritical, and plays the devil’s advocate WAY too often.  It is hard to read her books and love her.

That being said, I still enjoy reading her books because she goes so deep into her emotions and her research.  She makes you think, and that’s a great quality in an author.  This book was no different.  Perfect for the soon-to-be-bride.

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley.

I liked this tribute to growing up in the 90s, especially the entire essay on Oregon Trail.  Me likey.  Apparently, they say she’s the next David Sedaris, but I did not find myself peeing my pants or even snort laughing.  Snort laughter is the ultimate sign of a hilarious book, and this just didn’t make the cut.

What are you reading right now?  Anything fabulous?

-Mads

 

 

6 thoughts on “Reading Rainbow Roundup

  1. I’m reading Game of Thrones right now and am really enjoying it. I kind of cheated in that I watched the first season of Game of Thrones before deciding to read it so my liking it was pretty much a guarantee.
    I am surprised by how young the characters are though, but otherwise it’s pretty good…so far…I’m not that far into it yet 🙂

  2. I just read a biography called “Cleopatra: A Life” by Stacy Schiff. Worth reading because it was extensively researched, and tells the stories that haven’t often been told about her. I picked it up on a whim when Border’s was closing. I definitely agree with your assessment of Elizabeth Gilbert’s writing style.

  3. Finally getting around to reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, also Jen Lancaster’s new book. I’m still trying to make my mind up if they’re really good or not.

  4. I find Crosley hilarious and original. You’ve got a winner there!

    I just picked up “Manhood for Amateurs,” a collection of personal essays by Michael Chabon, who comes across as fearless, candid, and strikingly insightful. Chabon’s trademark style–complex, intricate, intellectual, but never pretentious–makes these essays a bit harder to read than a more conversational piece (from Sedaris, for instance), but also very rewarding.

    I’m struggling to get through E.L. Doctorow’s “Loon Lake.” I was introduced to him with his latest novel, “Homer and Langley,” which I found very accessible and fun. The earlier “Loon Lake” is more of a downer. Can anyone offer suggestions on where I should go next to give Doctorow another chance? Ragtime? Billy Bathgate? Water Works? I’m reluctant now…

Leave a Reply

