Top 5 Fall TV Shows

I’ve been hit with the sniffles.  I know it’s not just me because Facebook and Twitter are blowing UP!  What is it about sore throats and runny noses that has people urgent to report their moment by moment health status?  I have no idea, but I’m guilty too.  So, my bloggy friends, I have a cold.

PW recently had a post on the fall tv lineup for this year.  So instead of Doing Things in the real world, I’ll be starting on my own new fall tv lineup.  We have some old faves and some newbies I can’t wait to try out.

Top 5 Shows This Fall:

1) Castle

Nathan Fillion plays a murder mystery author who pairs up with one of New York’s best detectives for inspiration. I can’t help falling in love with this crime fighting duo.  Nathan Fillion is as the intro states, “ruggedly handsome”, and his goofball antics are entertaining to say the least.

2) Dexter

This serial killer dad doubles as a blood-spatter expert for the Miami police department.  Oh, and he’s super hot.  I think we have a theme going with the attractive male leads…*ahem*  Dexter keeps digging himself into deeper and deeper holes and I can’t wait to see how he gets himself out of this one!

3) How I Met Your Mother

The show follows Ted through his late 20s as he retells his children the story of how he met their mother.  How I Met Your Mother is a funnier and wittier version of Friends.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved Friends, but this show’s humor blows it out of the water.

4) Parks and Recreation

Leslie Knopes works as a city planner and promises a community member that she will build a park where a dangerous pit currently sits.  The show is similar to The Office in that it follows the hilarious workplace ins and outs.  I had no idea how much I would come to love Amy Poehler and Aziz Ansari, but I can’t get enough!

5) Person of Interest

This looks like it’s the television version of Minority Report (which I LOVED).  J.J. Abrams (of Lost, Alias, and Fringe) and Jonathan Nolan (of The Dark Knight) pair up for this one and you best believe I won’t miss a minute of it!

Of course, I’m also pretty stoked for the return of Psych, Criminal Minds, The Mentalist, True Blood, Weeds, and Fringe.

What are you excited about watching this fall?  Do you plan on starting any new series?

-Mads

p.s. As usual, click on the photos for sources.  You will be redirected.

22 thoughts on “Top 5 Fall TV Shows

  1. I had the cold two weeks ago up here!

    I am soooo upset Hulu changed their rules! Being a week behind on Glee will not be fun. Community will probably be the same way. Also, I have to make an effort to watch The Good Wife on TV since it uses CBS’ horrible online system. Waiting for Mad Men in January!

    • I’m thinking about ditching Glee this season. 😦 The writing used to be so funny and Sue cracked me up every episode. Now the drama flies by and the routines try too hard. I can’t stop watching Kurt, Sue, and Mercedes though.
      I hear good things about Community, but I always forget to watch it. This year!

      • They actually hired two writers for Glee this year (previously it had just been written by the co-creators, which is why there was so little continuity) and I heard the premiere was very good.

  2. I’m addicted to Dexter and Castle, too. Also love Modern Family and The Amazing Race. The Complete Package is beside himself that Sons of Anarchy is back on and he’s counting the days until Boardwalk Empire starts back up. I’d say it concerns me that he’s drawn to shows about criminals, but I love Dexter. Doesn’t make me a serial killer!

    • Yes! I love Firefly, but the real fan of Firefly is Jonathan. He’s watched every episode approximately 10 times, he has the book, and owns Serenity (the movie).
      I think Nathan Fillion has his own little cult following and I am a proud member of that cult.

  3. 1. Modern Family – started watching a bit last year and just loved it
    2. Parenthood – a good family drama
    3. Grey’s Anatomy – I will watch this show until they cancel it… It continues to make me cry on a weekly basis
    4. Revenge – I am trying this new one out… we will see how long it lasts

  4. I love Castle, but I only seem to catch re-runs because I can barely remember what night shows are on. I never miss The Biggest Loser, Parenthood, or Grey’s Anatomy. Brothers & Sisters is cancelled, so now I need a chick show on Bacon Slayer’s hockey nights. I will watch anything associated with J.J. Abrams, so I’m super excited to hear about Person of Interest! I had no idea he had a new show. Also looking forward to Revenge.

  5. Parks & Rec is what I was excited for this fall. But I’m also going to give that Pan Am a try, I love that era and think the concept of a flight attendant as a glamorous job as interesting.

Leave a Reply

