Reading Rainbow Roundup

I believe it’s about time to share what I’ve been reading this summer.  Here goes:

Bossypants by Tina Fey

I love Tina Fey.  She’s self-deprecating, liberal, and a raging feminist.  Plus, I have a soft spot in my heart for female comediennes.  They fight the good fight.

Bossypants was a hilarious look at Fey’s childhood, breaking into show-biz, and backstage at SNL and 30 Rock.  The last chapter or two felt rushed, but I was generally pleased with what she chose to include in this memoir.  This is one of those quick beach reads that is fun for a minute or two.

1984 by George Orwell

For some reason, I’m the only person who didn’t have this on a required reading list in high school.  I know the public education system failed me, but c’mon!

I pretty much love any book with Utopia/Dystopia themes, so this was a win!  I’m also amazed that something something written in the 1940s could be so timeless.  The problems in 1984 are still threats to us today.  Bravo, Orwell.  Bravo.

The Devil in The White City by Eric Larson

This took me an embarrassingly long time to finish.  I would pick it up, read the first chapter, and then completely forget that I was reading it.  So, I’ve been meaning to finish it for over two years now.  *shame*

I finally made the commitment and I’m ohsoglad I did.  The Devil in The White City is a blow-your-socks-off non-fiction piece that parallels the Chicago World’s Fair to the story of a serial murderer.  I couldn’t put it down and it inspired me to hop on the ole Google to find out more about the fair.  I’m not sure I’ve ever been so moved by a book as to investigate the history for myself.  I’m so excited they are making this into a movie!

What are you reading this summer?  What books are you stoked to see turn into movies?

-Mads

14 thoughts on “Reading Rainbow Roundup

  1. Feeling a little bad that my latest books have been a mixture of Harry Potter and Breaking Dawn… oooh I did read Water for Elephants which was kinda beautiful.

    Also I have read 1984… as a summer read… these two scenarios do not go hand in hand. I pretty much cacked myself into a complete paranoid state by the end of that particular year. Although I did enjoy the book.

    Loooove Tina Fey. Pretty awesome in every way. 30 Rock is pretty much my favourite show on tv right now .

    I do blame my latest ‘not reading’ exploits on the fact that I am currently editing my first completed book and writing my second. I don’t want to be known as that girl who cheated and stole ideas from other books so I stop myself from being overly influenced.

    Another good book to read however is an oldun from Jodi Picoult: ‘Keeping Faith.’ Awesome book and completely a non stop page turner.

    Okie doke I’m done with the essay. Speak soon!

    • hahah 1984 got me pretty paranoid too. I don’t know how you can read that and not worry just a teensy bit about Big Brother.
      Congrats on the books! What are you writing about?

  2. I just started reading Bossypants in Madison. It might be the book that I read before all of my long runs because it’s just so fantastically funny and stress-free. My favorite so far is her description of inner-thigh fat as crotch-nuggets.

  3. I just googled The Devil in the White City and found out Leonardo DiCaprio bought the rights to the movie. I nearly peed my pants I’m so excited. I LOVE HIM.

    • Leo! Leo! Leo! Could he be sexier? Probably not. There are very few people who are uber hot as teenagers (I had a crush on his teenage self when I was a kid, so I don’t think that counts as pervy…right?) all the way up to adulthood.
      ‘Twill be brilliant.

  4. I’m also pumped about a possible movie “Devil in the White City” with DiCaprio! Very intense and dark, offset by the very real frustrations in organizing, funding and completing a real life World’s Fair in a very interesting time in US history.

    • Wasn’t it such a good book?! I loved every minute of it.
      I guess I am getting really into historical pieces. I also loved Pillars of the Earth.
      Any other good recommendations for me?

  5. I can relate to your “struggling” to get through a book. I’ve been working on “All the Devils are Here” – no relation LOL. About the 2008-2009 financial market crash. And, the next book by Mitch Albon. And an old book by Wilbur Smith – 3 at the same time is about par for the course.

  6. I read “Half-Broke Horses” by Jeanette Walls. It was a good read, but I enjoyed her other book “The Glass Castle” more. I also read “Firefly Lane” by Krisin Hannah. It was a great story about female friendship. I cried like a baby. I also read “The Help” earlier this year. Loved it. Hope the movie does it justice.

    • I have Half-Broke Horses on my to-read list. I was surprised at how much I liked The Glass Castle. Mostly because I feel like alcoholic parents/pick yourself up by the bootstraps stories are played out. But I Loved it!

  7. I’ve been on kind of a reading hiatus. Not for lack of effort, but for the fact that *nothing* I pick up seems engaging. I did just read Water for Elephants (loved!) and I’ve started Second Nature: A Gardener’s Education by Michael Pollan. Basically, Pollan is telling me to stop fighting my environment by trying to grow things that don’t belong there. He’s so practical.

    • I was struggling to find something on my bookshelves that was particularly engaging, but then I went on an Amazon binge.
      New purchases:
      Committed by Eilzabeth Gilbert
      Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
      Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
      The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman
      The Life and Times of The Thunderbolt Kid by Bill Bryson
      A Game of Thrones (book 1 in the series) by George R. R. Martin

      Hopefully one of those strikes my fancy when they arrive.

Leave a Reply

