Top 10 Reasons I’m Loving LA

There are a billion reasons I love living in LA.  Mostly I love living with this dude I fell in love with and our illegitimate dog-child.  BUT…if I were to make a list of the top 10 superficial reasons I love living here, this would totally be that list:

1) My neighborhood.  “The LBC” is notorious for scary neighborhoods featured in Snoop Dogg songs, but I’ve only seen the great parts of the city.  Downtown Long Beach has a lot of businesses, dining, the Queen Mary (sort of our claim to fame), and a great aquarium.  On the opposite side of town, we have 2nd Street.  For those in MN, I equate 2nd Street to Uptown/Calhoun Square area.

My neighborhood

2)  Hole Mole.  The best fish tacos I’ve ever tasted.  The tacos consist of perfectly battered fish, creamy slaw, cilantro, and a splash of lime over the top.  *drool*  I know what’s for lunch.  LA has some of the best Mexican food I’ve ever tasted.  Hands. Down.

Posted by Chelsea W. on Yelp

 3) Wild parrots.  They scare the bejeezus out of me, but they are pretty neat to look at from a distance.  I like to pretend I live in the jungle.  What of it?

4) Karaoke lounges, specifically “Elvis?!“.  There are karaoke bars where I’m from, but I had never been to a legitimate lounge until I moved to LA.  Basically, you share a room with 6 of your closest friends and a few microphones.  Celine Dion never sounded so good.

So unassuming in its strip mall glory. Posted by Kendo U. on Yelp

5) Dog Beach.  The beaches in/around LA are nice, but they’re not better than other beaches around the world.  However, there is a beach entirely dedicated to dogs in Huntington Beach and Josie LOVES IT.  She gets this crazed look in her eye and gets covered in sand and ocean water within 30 seconds of our visits.  Anything that can tire my dog out is a win in my book.

6) Celebrity sightings.  I would like to say that I’m the type of person that views celebrities as normal people and is not phased at all to see one walking down the street.  That is not the case.  I am a celebrity NUT.  Even if it’s someone I don’t respect or like watching on tv, I will go bananas if I see them out and about.  It’s like seeing a rare species of bird.  I’ve seen 5 celebrities since moving to LA, and I’ve only lived here a year!

7) Day trips.  I love that I live a short distance from wine country (Santa Ynez), San Diego, Palm Springs, and Catalina Island.  I can never run out of gorgeous weekend getaways!

 8) Dim Sum.  People go to Dim Sum here like it is their job.  Bonus?  Jonathan is Chinese so he knows where to find the best.  Mmmmyes, I would like another plate of those pork ribs FOR BREAKFAST.

9) The produce.  Most produce doesn’t ever go out of season.  I mean, technically it does, but really it doesn’t.  You know how strawberries taste like dirty pirate hooker a$$ in Minnesota winters?  Yeah, that doesn’t happen here.  Strawberries are always plump, juicy, and scrumptious.  Same goes for tomatoes, avocados, bananas, etc.

10)  Reno Room.  Thus far my favorite dive bar in Long Beach.  The drinks are cheap, the crowd is mixed, and pool is played.  Oh, and they serve Mexican food.  🙂

Posted by Mark P. on Yelp.

Have you ever been to Los Angeles?  What’s your favorite spot?

-Mads

11 thoughts on “Top 10 Reasons I’m Loving LA

    • It Does count! I didn’t add Disneyland because I hate crowds and most everything associated with amusement parks. Although, last time I went I had a blast.

  1. Hermosa Beach…the comedy club, the fact that it hasn’t changed MUCH since the sixtys, sidewalks for streets, the beach, fun people like you.
    But Madalyn, we also love Long Beach, that’s where we bought our first house.

    ENJOY

  2. Okay lady, way to make me jealous 🙂 I’ve never been to L.A., but you’ve totally sold me. Plus there’s that whole magical aura surrounding the mere thought of it. I don’t blame you about flipping over celebs, I would freak out too!

  3. Someday when I come to visit, we’re going to Hole Mole. Maybe for every meal. Or at least until I break my Pinkberry record, which is three times in 24 hours. Hahahaha…whoops.

    • That’s fine with me. There are a billion delicious places to eat. It just depends on how much you love fish tacos. And chips. And salsas. And refried beans. And spanish rice. And life.

  4. You should come down to Westwood because celebrities are ubiquitous around here!

    As someone who doesn’t really care for LA I appreciate your list. It makes me a bit happier to be living here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

