Cleaning up shop

When I started blogging, it was something silly to get out my thoughts.  Over the course of its little existence, it has grown to be a place where I have been able to come back to time and time again to share with my family and long-distance friends.  Not to mention the petite gaggle of readers who keep coming back and whose blogs I thoroughly enjoy reading in return.

I have learned a ton, gotten some great recipes, shared secrets, and made friends.  I would like to say I’ve also gone through some sort of deep spiritual transformation, but to be honest, it has mostly been about the entertainment value.

I laugh every day reading blogs.

Sometimes I pee a little.

Anyway, the point is…I want to keep on blogging, but if I’m going to do that, I need to change the way things run around here a bit.

1) I am going to post on a M-W-F schedule.  There might be posts on other days, but you will find me here fo sho on those days.

2) I’m changing my blog title.  Anything fun come to mind?

3) There will be some new tabs so that things are easier to find.  For sure there will be a “Food” tab, but I’m still working on the other ones.

What would you like to see more of around here?

If you had to pick the top thing you have learned from blogging, what would it be?

-Mads

11 thoughts on “Cleaning up shop

  1. I think the thing I have learned over the past year is to stay true to who I am – don’t try to change myself to fit the ideal blogger, but rather let people see me and decide for themselves if they like it. And with that, write about things I like and care about. That helps keep blogging fun and a creative outlet for me.

    Excited to see how your blog changes and develops!
    Much love,
    B

  2. I like your M W F idea. I can be really good about blogging and blog everyday and then let it slide and blog only once a week. For me, blogging everyday just doesn’t happen. Setting a plan of three days a week is definitely a realistic goal (at least from my end). So excited for you new blog! Blog about everything and anything! Love it 🙂

    • That’s how my blogging schedule has been so far. I’m hoping that forcing myself to post on a MWF schedule will mean that the posts are better quality.

  3. Blogging can take over your life if you don’t put it in its place, so good job on the schedule! I’d say stay true to your own style, be vigilant about proper grammar and spelling, and be as involved with your followers as you can be. Oh, and set up a Facebook page for your blog!

    • I majored in English, but I still whip out posts with mistakes in them. Good call.
      I am debating on the Facebook page…sometimes I love Facebook and other times I hate it.
      What would you like to see on a Facebook page?

    • My take? DON”T be vigilant about proper grammar & spelling, if you don’t want to be. Blogging is an form of expression – why hamstring yourself if it don’t work for yooze. (See what I did there?)

  4. Keep doing what it is you do. Write about what you are passionate about, or funny things that come to mind. Your personality and sense of humor shines though & keeps me coming back for more–no matter what your post schedule may be. 😉 You should have a regular random/if your life was Twitter posts. Those are hilarious. I’m kind of like you though–I want to be entertained or provoked to thought when reading other blogs.

    On a side note–I was just thinking of changing my theme & seriously considering this one! Love how it looks with your header photos.

    • Thanks Kirsten!
      I’m thinking of changing to my own domain, mostly because there are only a handful of really good themes for wordpress.com blogs. At least, themes that are free and available to me without to much text editing.

  5. I used to blog every day but I had to cut back to 2 days a week so I could continue to read other blogs…which I love doing!

    I hope you had a fabulous weekend in Palm Springs!!

Leave a Reply

