MY VEGGIES ARE HERE!!!!

I’m not sure if I told you peeps about the CSA box I decided to order or not.  I could check my old blog posts, but that would be waaaay too much effort.

So, here’s the deal, I decided to order a CSA box!  CSA is Community Supported Agriculture…basically you sign up to receive a box (you can pick the size) of various produce items (you can pick your favorites) to be delivered to you on a regular basis (you pick how often).

SQUEEE!!!!!

Jonathan and I decided on a mix of fruits & veggies to come once every 2 weeks.  We told the service about our dislike for beets, mushrooms, and lima beans, and they don’t ever add those icky things to our box.  The items that they add are whatever happens to be in season from local farms.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to see vegetables in my life!

Our first box contained:

3 oranges
1 cantaloupe
1 small box strawberries
2 avocados 
5 tomatoes
5 sweet gypsy peppers (excited to try these!)
6 carrots 
10 baby gold potatoes
1 head of romaine
 

Before you get too excited, it does cost a bit more than grocery store produce.  We paid $25 for these local organic fresh goodies to be delivered.  Worth. It.  Especially for us city folk.

Check out Yelp! to find one in your area.

Do you have a CSA box?  How do you squeeze fruits and vegetables into your meals?

-Mads

4 thoughts on “MY VEGGIES ARE HERE!!!!

  1. We’re fortunate enough to have a produce farm about 25 minutes from our house. For 8 months of the year, we can buy all sorts of farm fresh produce, dried beans of all sorts, and even stone ground grits. It’s awesome. To add frosting to the cupcake, they also sell farm fresh eggs, homemade pies, fresh milk, AND there’s a little trailer next door that sells smoked meats and cheeses. I’m telling you – it’s heaven!

  2. This is a really awesome idea! We just finally made it down to City Market in downtown KC a couple weeks ago, and it’s going to be a weekly trip for us. Fresh, local, organic produce just tastes better!

  3. CSA boxes are so fun–it’s kind of like Christmas every time you get one. We’ve done a CSA in the past, but last year we got 8 weeks of beets, and loads of decorative (not edible?) squash. Kind of put us over the edge. Fortunately, I literally trip over farms with produce stands out front, so I grab & go every week. I think it is very cool that you can tell your farmer what you don’t like so that you don’t end up with a box full of it.

  4. Pingback: What I made with my CSA produce | La Petite Pancake

Leave a Reply

