Music is my boyfriend

A few things about music…

My iTunes was recently lost to the computer goblins.

Grooveshark.com allows me to listen to songs for free sans commercials and that makes me happy.  It also allows me to save a playlist of favorite songs.  I love grooveshark.

Readers, you weighed in on your favorites a few months ago.  Now my playlist is diverse and bada$$.  Thank you.

I used to HATE and DREAD karaoke.  Then I realized the point is to drink and be merry and my opinion shifted.  I wish everyone sang with abandon.  Here are my favorite karaoke songs:

Laid by James.  The lyrics are hysterical and the high shrieking parts will win the crowd.

It’s All Coming Back To Me Now by Celine Dion.  This is for the bolder karaoke singer.  I sang it with a group of ladies once and I was white-knuckle gripping the microphone.  That is how awesome this song is.  I suggest closing your eyes while singing for the full effect.

Gypsies Tramps and Thieves by Cher.  This song brings happiness to everyone.

Stay by Lisa Loeb.  For the moodier and smaller karaoke groups.  I have yet to meet somebody who doesn’t know all the lyrics to this song.  To emphasize that point, I would like to repost the top comment from youtube for this video:

“I am a 27 year old male bachelor listening to Lisa Loeb at 2:00 AM on a Friday night… and I am going to let the song finish.” –chris77jay77

Please please please share your favorite karaoke songs.  If you don’t sing, what are your favorites to quietly mumble along to at the bar?

-Mads

4 thoughts on “Music is my boyfriend

  1. Personally, I like “Creep” by RadioHead if you’re going for dark & moody. But for pure, unadulterated joy, I’d go for “Let’s Groove Tonight” by Earth, Wind & Fire. Of course, you have to fully commit to shake your groove thang while you sing it. You know what they say… go big or stay home.

  2. Frankie Valli’s “Oh What a Night” is fun to sing with a group of friends. I am partial to angry-rocker-chick music for karoke, like anything Pink, Gretchen Wilson, Tori Amos, or Yeah, Yeah, Yeah’s.

  3. I found out what song does not work well for me in karaoke…Islands in the Stream…apparently I only know the chorus. This became evident only after I had selected it and was standing in front of everyone.

  4. Oh, Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves. Once upon a family roadtrip to Duluth, this song came on the radio like every 20 minutes. And God, when we were in town and it wasn’t playing? We still bellowed it.

    We Built This City by Starship. Forgiving vocals and excellent choreography opportunities.

Leave a Reply

