No, we don’t use the grapes you stomp with your feet

Two of my favorite sorority sisters decided to fly out this past weekend and take a day trip to Santa Ynez wine country.  I thought wine tasting was for high society, but wanna know a secret?  Any drunk with some spare cash can wander around the vineyard.

And that’s just what we did.

As goofy as we got, I thought the family with 9 children and a shirtless dad sitting on the front lawn of a vineyard in camp chairs was a little too low-brow.  I mean, I’m paying $10-20 per tasting to avoid your screaming children.

Thank goodness those screaming children couldn’t take away the view.  Beautiful.

Once we had a few glasses of wine, we decided it would be the perfect time to feed some ostriches…because that’s just what happens…right???

Btw, the sign next to my hand says, “Yes, we like to bite!”  Yes…the sign next to My Hand.

This ostrich had beef with the photographer.

Overall, the trip was a blast.  We drank to our heart’s content, ate real tasty creole food, tested habanero tequila, and fed some crazy big a$s birds!

I would like to end on this last note:

Do you get goofy at wine tastings or is it all about the tannins?

-Mads

3 thoughts on “No, we don’t use the grapes you stomp with your feet

  1. The photos aren’t showing up on my computer, but that didn’t keep me from laughing out loud when I read “Any drunk with some spare cash can wander around the vineyard.
    And that’s just what we did.” I guess that just wiped out my “hoity-toity” image of vineyard tours. Thanks for the inspiration to visit!

    • It can be a bit “hoity-toity”, but I like to keep it light. I also love talking to the wine sellers (grape farmers? vineyard owners? heros?) because they are so knowledgeable about their products. I end up learning so much!

  2. Sounds like a fun day! I usually am a mix of serious and goofy when tasting 🙂 I think it depends on who your with too!

    That is an awesome picture of the ostrich!

Leave a Reply

