Unemployed people can have goals too!

Hi team!

As you may already know, or have gathered by the title of this post, I am currently unemployed.  I decided I needed to find a job more aligned with my interests and a little closer to home (I was spending 25% of my paycheck on gas).  So I quit.

I start school full-time in September, so I still haven’t decided if there will be an actual job “search” or if I will commit all of my life to school.

In the meantime, I have some things I want to take care of:

1- Spend some time traveling. 

I have a trip to Minnesota planned for a friend’s wedding, but I would really love to go someplace out of the ordinary.  Perhaps a romantic getaway to Hawaii?  Perhaps a trip to Seattle?  I have been using AirfareWatchdog to put the feelers out for cheap tickets.

Any suggestions on vacation spots?

2- Read more.

The Zookeeper’s Wife by D. Ackermann and The Help by Kathryn Stockett are both on my library list.

What’s on your list?

3- As usual, getting skinny is on my list.

But this time, I brought reinforcements!  My fellow blogger friend, Adventures in Womanland, has been getting mucho results from Jillian Michael’s 30 day Shred.  Her before and after pictures inspired me so much, that I actually hopped on Amazon and now I will be shredding by Thursday.

I’m a little scared, but I figure 30 days is not an impossible commitment.  I can do this.

I plan on documenting the journey here, but I can’t promise it will be pretty.

What are you doing for your body?

-Mads

5 thoughts on “Unemployed people can have goals too!

  1. 1) Nick and I will be camping at a MN state park, going to Chicago, and going to Winnipeg this summer! You should go to Vancouver and get in on the Canada action.

    2) I am currently in the middle of “The American Way of Death [Revisited]” which I think you would like if you wanted some non-fiction for a change.

    3) Walking, biking, and yoga!

  2. Ah! I was JUST going to suggest Vancouver for a holiday. It is beautiful here. So much great stuff to do in the summer. You could hit both Seattle and Van in a trip pretty easily.

    A friend was just telling me about the 30 day shred – I’ve been planning to look into it. Thanks for the link to Adventures in womanland!

  3. I haven’t finished reading it yet – but I am loving Poser: My Life in 23 Yoga Poses by Claire Dederer. It is a great memoir thus far.

    For working out – I am all about yoga. I do different types on different days of the week to keep it a good mix for my body – but seriously, it is so good for all of me – not just my physical body. Love that.

    Excited to see you in a few weeks! I have always heard Iceland is amazing, but wanting to stay in the states then Seatlle, Portland, San Fran, Boston, NYC, or DC are some of my favs (coastal fan you could say…)

    Much love,
    B

  4. 1. Seattle in the summer is great; also take the ferry to Vancouver Island; take a whale watching tour; spend as much time as possible exploring Pike Street Market. If you’re thinking of Hawaii, we LOVED Hanalei Bay on Kauai. Gorgeous, peaceful, spectacular!

    2. I like Jeannette Walls’ “The Glass Castle” so much, I’m reading it for the 3rd time, and I just picked up her other book “Half-Broke Horses” to read this summer.

    3. I need to get back on the elliptical machine. With a G2 and and i-Pod, all things are possible (I hope).

  5. Pingback: Pingback Alert: La Petite Pancake « Adventures In Womanland

Leave a Reply

