A little bit about me

I’d like to share some fabulous adventure I went on this weekend, or a knock-your-socks-off recipe, or an anecdote about the crazies in LA.  But alas, I’ve been attacked by another head cold.  Thus, my excitement this weekend has included Ritz crackers, old episodes of 30 rock, and lots and lots of vitamin C.

So instead, I will reply to Kat’s request to share a little bit more about myself.

What’s your idea of perfect happiness?

Walking on the beach with Jonathan and Josie as sunset.  Followed by a dinner with short ribs and lots of red wine.  Plus a binge small portion of bananas foster bread pudding.

What’s your greatest fear?

Choosing a path that doesn’t lead to happiness.  Sub par living.

Which figures do you most closely identify with?

Liz Lemon.  Awkward, kinda funny, kinda mean, and an affinity for ham.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Procrastination.  My stress would go way down and my productivity would go way up if I didn’t have this trait.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Rudeness.

What do you most value in your friends?

Their hilariousness.  Most of the people in my inner circle can make me pee-laugh. 🙂

What words or phrases do you most overuse?

The Minnesotan “ya know”.  The ellipses “…”. 

What is your favorite journey?

The drive from anywhere to anywhere in New Zealand.  My heart hurts thinking about it.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Being “nice”.  When someone is “nice” it usually means they have zero personality.  I hope I’m never described as “nice”.

What’s your favorite occupation?

My favorite job of all time was working in the cheese department at a grocery store.  Learning about and eating cheeses all day is my idea of a dream job.

What do you dislike most about your appearance?

Sometimes the paleness of my legs frightens small children.

What is your greatest regret?

Boarding the plane to come home from New Zealand.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Jonathan, obviously.

Where and when were you happiest?

Perhaps the day I got my Kitchenaid mixer.  Perhaps the day I realized my balcony has an awesome sunset view.  Perhaps the day I bought my pug puppy.  Perhaps the 10k Lakes concert weekend.  Perhaps any given day at the cabin.  Perhaps the day my friend and I decided to run around Europe for a month.  Perhaps the day that same friend and I decided to run around New Zealand for a month.  Perhaps the day I decided to move to California.  perhaps…

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

That I had the ability to stay up past midnight without ruining the next 3 days for myself.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

The day I won “class clown” in high school.  I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darnit…people like me!

What is your most treasured possession?

My pantry.  Now that I have one, I cannot imagine life without one.

What do you regard as the lowest depths of misery?

Does Ke$ha count?

Where would you like to live?

I can see myself getting into the vibe of Montana.  Somewhere in the world in the foothills of a mountain and right on a lake.

What is your most marked characteristic?

How “nice” I am.  haha   Oh I don’t know…I’m a good listener?  This question gives me awkward tumtums.

What is your greatest extravagance?

Fresh flowers weekly.  It makes it seem like the apartment is fresh and clean, even if we haven’t vacuumed in weeks days.

What are the qualities you most like in a man?

Sense of humor.  Caring.  Nerdy.

Who are your favorite authors?

Bill Bryson.  Tim O’brien.  David Sedaris.  Michael Chabon.

Oh dear, I need to read more by female authors!  Where my ladies at?

How would you like to die?

Wouldn’t we all like to die naturally of old age surrounded with love?  Either that, or something very rock star.

 

 

There it is folks.

Feel free to write your own and link back!

I realize this is the equivalent of a bloggy chain e-mail, but I would love to learn more about my readers and fellow blog friends!

-Mads

 

4 thoughts on “A little bit about me

  1. You are the greatest, and I forgot you won class clown! As for your achievements…what about your ability to speak from your mouth as if it was located on the side of your face? “What if THIS was my face?!

  2. Aw! I get shivers of National Pride every time I hear about how much people have enjoyed their time in New Zealand. It’s almost like I’m personally responsible for how awesome my country is. (What a cool thing to be responsible for – however indirectly!!)

Leave a Reply

