Would you like a side of thumb with that?

If you can’t tell already, this week has been pretty poop-tastic.  For many reasons.  I am calling it a Mulligan and it ends today.

Tonight, actually.

When I sliced a chunk of my thumb off.

 

The meal was worth it.

On the menu: brats, kale chips topped with fresh parmesan, and sweet potato onion roast.

Unfortunately, I didn’t grab sweet potatoes at the store, but some sort of mystery potato blend.  I quickly discovered that almost all root vegetables can be turned delicious with olive oil and salt.  But that’s not what this story is about.

This story is about freshly grated parmesan cheese to top off the kale chips.

Grate

Grate

Grate

SLICE!

The Thumb

Thank goodness for Spongebob…and Jonathan’s first responder bandaid skills.

I’m going to make it.

But the grater is in time-out.

 

Boooooo

Care for some freshly grated thumb?

Have you had any kitchen mishaps lately?

-Mads

P.S. I came across this interesting article describing sweet potatoes vs. Yams. Turns out, I was eating legitimate sweet potatoes last night, but I have only ever had the Camote and Garnet yam in the past. Fascinating.

7 thoughts on “Would you like a side of thumb with that?

  1. I learned the hard way to NEVER drop your big chef’s knife into a sink of soapy water. I reached in a few minutes later to wash a pot, and the blade of the knife went into the end of my index finger about a 1/2″ – right down the side of my fingernail. The side of my finger was flapping off (sorry to be so graphic). A neighbor drove me to the emergency room for stitches, but you know what? They just cleaned it out and super-glued it shut. Seriously. It worked so well, I don’t even have a scar to prove it. Lesson learned: always wash your knives by hand immediately after using.

    Hope your thumb feels better soon. Those grater injuries really hurt. I’ve done it so many times, I now refuse to grate anything down to the end. As soon as I get close, I stop and throw the “nub” out (unless it’s expensive parmesan; then I throw the “nub” into my next pot of marinara). Love the Sponge Bob bandaids. I use Dora & Diego.

  2. Ohhhh! now that looks and sounds so wonderful! I like the idea of kale chips! Sorry bout the thumb 😦 I recently grabed the blade of my food processor! It fell in the dish water and I did not see it, and SLICE! took the very tip of my thumb off! was funny looking until it healed. All better and back to normal now 🙂

  3. What is it with thumbs and sharp objects in the kitchen? I usually grate part of a knuckle when grating cheese, so that’s my oldest son’s new job. He never injures himself. I hear that character band-aids heal wounds much faster than the plain variety. We use Snoopy at our house.

  4. Ouch! Minus the added thumb flavor, that’s a real bummer.

    I managed to mistake my index finger for a garlic clove using a very inappropriate, slightly dull, slightly serrated knife once. Ahhhh hurts to remember.

    Godspeed in the healin’.

  5. Okay, between your post and the comments…I’m going to pass out! I’m terrible with injuries and anything related to blood, it makes me light headed.
    Hope your thumb is okay!

Leave a Reply

