Bruschetta Breakdown

PEOPLE OF THE INTERNET–I need help!!!

I cannot, for the life of me, make The Perfect Bruschetta.

Image courtesy of Diets2Try

I make good bruschetta.

I make bruschetta that disappears rather quickly.

But I have yet to make The Perfect Bruschetta.

I’ve tried garlic, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, onions, cheeses, red peppers, basil, kosher salt, and a million other combinations.  I’ve even tried to go back to basics, using only tomatoes and salt.

Nothing.

My tastes buds are not amused.

So, I implore you…what is The Perfect Bruschetta recipe?

-Mads

10 thoughts on “Bruschetta Breakdown

  1. I like the version where you lightly brush the bread with olive oil, then grill. When it’s done grilling you rub a raw garlic clove, or a half a tomato over it… YUM. And super simple.

    • I do the same thing with my bread. Then I top it with ripe tomatoes, with a little shaved purple onion, salt, pepper, a splash of EVOO, and a dash of Asiago. I’ll add a little basil, if I have it, but not usually. Although my favorite restaurant bruschetta is simply tomatoes, basil, fresh mozzarella, and a drop of balsamic.

    • Sweet! I had a feeling somebody out there would be able to tell me about how Giada’s bruschetta tastes. I love her show, but have never actually made one of her recipes. I’ll have to try these, thanks!

  2. The best bruschetta I’ve had was drizzled with two sauces which I think were a balsamic reduction and a honey-mustard type sauce. I tried this. I confess, I used store-bought bruschetta topping, BUT, the balsamic reduction and honey-mustard drizzled over the tops of them once assembled was divine!!

Leave a Reply

