Internet, I need your help

With pizza.

This pizza I’m about to show you had all the promise in the world.  The ingredients were fresh and homemade.  The aroma was incredible.  The crust was baked to perfection.

The taste?  BOooooooriiiiiing!

This is where you come in.  What did I do wrong?  How does one make the perfect pizza?  Any tips?

The rolling pin featured in my giveaway. Yes, I really use it and yes, I love it.

The ingredient list:

-homemade pesto
-ricotta cheese (big clumps this time)
-fresh tomatoes
-chopped garlic
-salt and pepper
-a sprinkle of parmesan

I did a half whole wheat crust this time and it was delicious.

I wanted to keep the ingredient list short because that’s really been working for me lately.  Maybe that’s where I went wrong?

 

Parmesan in sepia 🙂

Even close up it looked awesome.

The smell from the oven was to-die-for.

*sigh*

Please help internet people.

-Mads

p.s. Life is too crazy to make pizza every Sunday for a series, but I will continue to post until I have perfected every pizza I can think of.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Internet, I need your help

  1. Not going to lie – salt. I add salt and garlic powder to my ricotta and that makes the flavors pop. Olives are great since they’re super flavorful. I also love brushing the crust with olive oil and sprinkling salt and peppers on it – yum!

    God speed kitchen warrior.

    Laura

  2. I agree a little salt (preferably kosher) goes along way. Sometimes “fresh” tomatoes don’t have that just-out-of-the-garden flavor either. I truly am a fan of the canned tomato. Brushing the crust with olive oil is another great tip. It just does something to boost the flavor. Good luck and keep trying. LeAnn

    • canned tomato, really? I think I will try that next time because I’ve never even given the canned version a thought. It’s probably cheaper too!

  3. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search.

  4. I agree with the salt comments. Also my hubby always says that you should have no more than 3 ingredients (not including the sauce) on a pizza and this follows that rule, I don’t know if this is true but the pizzas he makes are delicious. I find ricotta to be a bland cheese, maybe a little zingier cheese next time perhaps?

    • wow 3? That is an intense rule, but maybe he’s gotta point.

      I think perhaps ricotta was the biggest downfall of this pizza. I think it’s a great addition to pizza, but perhaps it shouldn’t be the main show. Going for the zing next time. Thanks!

  5. My wonderful, amazing, exciting package arrived in the mail yesterday! I haven’t been able to get my nose out of the Ina cookbook…so much to cook, where do I begin?! Thank you times 10 for such a thoughtful, awesome gift. It’s brightened my week!

    Good luck with the pizza trials…Practice makes perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

