The Girl Who Read the Books

Detective novels are not my thing.  I like suspense and horror and intrigue, but pompous detectives who always get the leading lady do not appeal to me.  That being said, I cannot put down Stieg Larsson’s trilogy of “The Girl Who…” books.

It doesn’t hurt that Jonathan put the audiobooks on my ipod and I’ve taken to long walks along the beach.

Life is hard, right?

Anyway, I just finished listening to the second in the series, The Girl Who Played With Fire.  This was much less creative than the first one and was extremely repetitive.  The description of the leading lady’s mental status was gone over no less than 30 times.  The story of how her guardian took advantage of her was described in almost every chapter.

But the sex and the violence and the unanswered questions kept me coming back for more.

I still liked it.  Just not as much as The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

And now The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest has already started playing on the ipod.

It’s too late for me…

-Mads

Leave a Reply

