Road Trip: Part II

Denver.

The road from Omaha to Denver was possibly the longest and most boring of the trek, but it was well worth it.  We had so much fun in Colorado!  I have said it before and I’ll say it again, I could easily live in Denver.  Urban city surrounded by mountains?  Fine by me.  🙂

I apologize that most of the pictures are on the road, but I kind of love the angles and the view of this one.

We had a 10 and 1/2 foot tall rental truck so we had to be careful of low bridges.  Luckily we didn’t run into any trouble, but we did have to drive slowly through the mountains with the other semi trucks.  Something about careening around the corner of a mountain at 70mph in a truck was not appealing to me.
See?  Careening would not be ok.

We stopped for lunch in Vail.  I would love to see it in the winter, but the sunny slopes were still breathtaking.

We also took a dip in the natural hot springs in Glenwood Springs, CO.  It wasn’t like a secret hole in the woods surrounded by rocks (this is what I saw in my imagination).  In reality, it’s more like a giant pool with stone as the flooring.  The main pool is 93 degrees, which they actually pump cool water into to make it bearable, but the thermal pool is at 104 degrees.  With the amount of old people in the healing waters, it was exactly like being in the movie Cocoon.  Hilarious and surreal.

We stopped in 4 cities in Colorado and they were all magnificent.  I need a t-shirt that says “I ❤ C.O.”

-Mads

Leave a Reply

