Rebecca

Sometimes, believe it or not, I read without the prompting of a monthly club dedicated to books.  I finished one of these solo-reads just in time for the big move.

Twas Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier:

A friend described it perfectly as “Hitchcock-esque”.  I love a wide variety of genres, but classic suspense really gets to me.  I just think psychological buildup and rising action were done way better before the 21st century.

The main character was a sort of feeble girly-woman, but she managed to win my love through her constant anxiety and naivete.   The setting was extremely well thought out, but I didn’t have to skim entire chapters describing grass or something boring.  I loved every minute of it.

I might read it again right now.  Ok, not right now.

But soon.

-Mads

Leave a Reply

