Banana Blondies

When I started making these I wasn’t feeling the best, but I decided nothing would make my tummy feel 100% except for some sort of dessert involving bananas and chocolate.  Alas, I had no butter.

I ran to the store 1/2 dressed in my pjs and 1/2 dressed in a skirt I tossed on at the last minute.  Of course I ran into somebody I knew, while feeling and looking like absolute trash.

I finally made it home in one piece and decided to make Banana Cinnamon Chip Blondie Bars again.  The first time I made these for a cabin weekend and they were gone within 10 minutes.  Fabulous melty goodness.

But I ran into a few snags.  The butter I got at the store was the cheapest, but also didn’t come with that little measuring scale on the package.  It was like a giant brick of butter, so I just lopped off what looked like about 6 tablespoons.  Then I spilled brown sugar all over myself and the floor.  Smooth.  Then the egg cracked all over the kitchen floor.  Then I realized I didn’t have cinnamon chips.

Not my best day.

But these were some incredible blondie bars.   Just the right amount of melt-in-your-mouth decadence.  Even the batter was scrumptious.

You will need:

6 Tbsp. butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 cup smooshy bananas (2-3 nanners)
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
Cinnamon chips or chocolate chips or butterscotch chips to your liking

Mix the wet ingredients.  Then mix the dry ingredients.  Combine.  Spread in 9×9 square buttered pan and bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

Make sure you don’t slice them open until they are completely cooled, but it will be VERY HARD NOT TO!

-Mads

Leave a Reply

