Veggie Pesto Sammy


There is nothing I love more than pesto, except maybe cheese.  My digestive system would not be happy if I gave it these treats every day, but today was a special occasion…Clean Out the Fridge Day!  I am moving in less than 2 weeks, which means everything in the fridge needs to go.  This task is especially daunting since I have been eating most meals out to catch up with friends before leaving.  The cycle of doom.
I need to get creative.  Enter: pesto!

This “recipe” was quick and easy to make and turned out delicious!  Fresh and full of basily goodness.  Plus my peppers were ready to jump ship if I didn’t eat them soon.

You will need:
1/2 green pepper
1/2 red pepper
1/2 cup sliced onion
2 tablespoons pesto
1/4 cup cheese (I had cheddar on hand, but I think mozzarella or parmesan would be better)
2 slices artisan bread

Directions:
–Preheat oven to 375 degrees
–Chop up the veggies and saute
–Slab some pesto on that crusty bread
–Pile veggies atop pesto
–Pile cheese atop veggies
–Pop sammy in oven until cheese melts

-M

6 thoughts on “Veggie Pesto Sammy

  1. Hey, hey hey! Where’d that pesto come from??? You wanna make some more? I’m thinking about another Farmers’ Market venture on Saturday.

    I don’t know if the salsa tastes good or not, but I certainly hope so. I canned 12 pints today. With any luck, I won’t kill and family or friends with botulism.

  2. Well, with any luck you’ll have a jar of salsa left, and I just bought more sweet Thai basil at the FM this morning. Tomorrow is another day…

  3. Mm, yummy! I love using Giada’s citrus pesto recipe.

    How exciting that you’re moving to California!! I haven’t tried Father’s Office yet. It’s been on my to-do list for years, so I’ll hopefully be able to cross it off soon!

    • I haven’t seen her citrus pesto, but that sounds delicious. I’ve also been meaning to try an asparagus pesto or a pea pesto. We’ll see how it goes, I’m sure it will be blogged about.

Leave a Reply

