Waiter, there is too much pepper on my poppycosh

But I would be proud to partake in your Peeeeecan Pieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee…

My dad’s favorite kind of pie is pecan, so naturally I had to make one for Father’s Day.
I found the recipe here.

Ingredients-
2 cups shelled pecan halves or chopped
1 cup golden syrup
1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
rounded 1/4 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 large eggs, at room temperature, slightly beaten
9-inch unbaked deep-dish pie shell
whipped cream, for serving

First toast the pecans in the oven at 325 degrees for about 5 minutes, until you can smell em roasting.

This recipe requires dark brown sugar.  Normally I just substitute light brown sugar, but I feel like pecan pie needs that extra rich flavor, and now I have some for other baking needs!

 Mix together the 1 cup golden syrup, 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar, rounded 1/4 teaspoon salt, 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract until smooth.

It should look something like this –>

With very few chunks of sugar.

Add the 3 room-temp eggs and mix.

Pour the mixture into your shell and sprinkle the toasted pecans on top.  Smells good already.

Now pop the pie into the oven at 325 degrees for about an hour or an hour and 15 minutes.  I put mine on top of a cookie sheet because it was kind of spilling goo over the sides and I didn’t want sticky oven.

This was VERY easy to make and I got a ton of compliments on it.  My dad said it was the best he’s ever had ;).  I don’t like pecan pie so I can’t really report on the taste.

-M

One thought on “Waiter, there is too much pepper on my poppycosh

  1. Pingback: A look back with La Petite Pancake highlights | La Petite Pancake

Leave a Reply

