The life of the engaged

Hello team,

This weekend was filled to the brim with bridal activities for my future sister-in-law.  It was also the weekend for the bachelor and his gang of groomsmen.  (pictures to come soon…I forgot my camera, so I’m tracking some down) 

The weekend started with the bachelorette party.  Christine’s (the bride) favorite tv show is Sex and the City, and the second movie happened to be the same weekend as her party, so it was SATC themed!  I’m not going to lie to you, dear reader, I love Sex and the City.  I think the series was well-written and captured it’s audience beautifully. 

We started off the night with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, which seemed extra decadent because we were all dressed to the nines!  Shortly after, we went to a tapas bar downtown for dinner.  The vegetarian paella, goat-cheese stuffed peppers, and grilled asparagus were all done to perfection.  However, Solera did something to their menu and now the short ribs taste like shitty beef jerky.  I’m not a fan.  To make up for this, there was a constant stream of sangira.

After dinner, we headed to the movie theater to see SATC II!  I wasn’t expecting much…tv series turned into movies never really never quite hit the mark.  I do love seeing all my favorite gals and their crazy outfits on the big screen, plus, can anyone turn their nose up at Chris Noth?!?  I don’t think so.  Good lord that man is sexy…serious beefcake.

The next stop was the rooftop bar of Seven.  The atmosphere was a solid mix between a classy upscale scene and desperate men just shy of 40.  I enjoy free drinks, so desperate men are fine by me (which actually came in handy relatively early on when my cash ran out after a few drinks…that place is ‘spensive yo!).  The view was incredible and the staff was surprisingly pleasant.  I usually find that places like this have a holier-than-thou attitude, but this was lacking.  I even had the opportunity to chat up a CIA-looking bouncer I referred to as Papa Bear for the rest of the evening…”This is Papa Bear, fox is in the henhouse, 10-4, over and out”.  We had a good time!

The following day consisted of an all-you-can-eat brunch buffet at Lord Fletchers on Lake Minnetonka with the groomsmen.  The food was delicious, but for some odd reason my tummy was only prepared to have plain pasta and bread.  Strange.

And last but not least, we went to a bridal shower.  Gifts, food, and games galore!  I happen to LOVE the tradition of saving a ribbon bouquet from the bridal shower gifts for the rehearsal.

Only 9 weeks until the big date! 
      
-M

One thought on “The life of the engaged

  1. I love this post. It seemed like watching sex and the city with SATC. Relax and find comfort through friends, family and your future husband. This should be a fun and memorable event. You both deserve to be happy! Congrats! novelty cufflinks

Leave a Reply

