We all run on

Believe it or not, I have still been gettin my run on with Jonathan in town!  However, I have been having a very hard time choosing a training plan.  I have 15-16 weeks, which, according to everyone, is plenty of time.  That still seems like no time at all to me.  So I’m a bit scared without a firm grasp of my running plan.  Ideas? 
I have looked on multiple websites, talked to people in training, and read some books/pamphlets about the situation.  Here’s my understanding…

-before signing up for a ½ marathon, you should be able to run like 3 miles– Check!

-you should do at least 1 long run a week and keep increasing the time there–Check!

-do intervals to increase your endurance and sprints to increase your speed–Check!

The things I can’t understand are the programs that build in a ton of rest days, cross training, and “easy runs”.  That’s 3-4 days a week where I’m not actually running, let alone running long distances.  How much do I actually need to do these other things?

I have been doing mostly interval runs (running 3 or 4 minutes and walking 1 or 2 minutes) with the idea that eventually I will run for more minutes and walk for less or zero minutes.  I have no idea if this is the right approach, but I am going to give it my best shot because I can do 45 minutes of running without feeling like death.  Maybe death is the feeling I need.

I would love input from my readers!  I would also love running buddies throughout the week!

-M

Leave a Reply

