A trip to the farmer’s market!

The season for farmer’s markets is finally upon us.  If there was ever a reason for boyfriends, dragging them to the farmer’s market early on a Saturday is it.  Jonathan and I hit up Lyndale for produce and fresh flowers.

We ended up getting:
-bananas (16 of them for banana cream pies)
-strawberries
-tomatoes
-grapes
-garlic bread
-buffalo sausage (buffalo tastes surprisingly awesome and is a healthier alternative to beef)
-jonge gouda
-fresh daisies
-soap
-fresh basil
-cinnamon roasted almonds (OMG this is reason alone to go)
-giant garlic pickles and kosher dill
-kettle corn

In essence, we went nuts.  However, on a whim, Jonathan decided we should split a bratwurst from the “Brat Guys”.  It was one of the best tasting brats of my life!  Seriously.  The bun was soft, the brat itself was spicy and juicy, and the relish was full of pickled goodness.  I don’t even like relish!!! But I almost passed out from ecstasy on my taste buds.  I know what’s going to motivate me to keep up my running routine this summer haha.

If you’re wondering how the banana cream pie turned out…The filling we made was enough for 2 pies, which was actually a good thing because I was planning on eventually making a second pie.  I’m just glad I didn’t double the recipe at the outset.  I now use pre-made crusts because it tastes pretty good and cuts out like an hour of prep work.  I think the cream filling could be a little more sweet, so if I were to make it again I would add more sugar.  Still…delicious!

-M

Leave a Reply

