Spaghetti Squash ‘Stravaganza

Back in my younger years, my parents would frequently introduce me to new and crazy foods.  Some of my favorites by the age of 10 included: spinach, pickled herring, smoked salmon, and spaghetti squash.  Spaghetti squash was buried in my memories for about 8 years, until I saw it laying unassumingly right next to the onions in the grocery store.  I nearly shrieked out loud!  I completely forgot how to prepare spaghetti squash, but luckily it’s a very simple process.

Cut the squash in half length-wise.  This is a pretty treacherous task, so be careful!

Gut the squash just like you would a pumpkin.  Oh how exciting!  Toss them in your roommate’s face if you like!

Turn the squash over (meat side down) on a greased cooking sheet.

(your squash should look like this after gutting it)
Put this in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 mins.

While this was takin it’s sweet time in the oven, I was sauteing some garlic and pine nuts in olive oil.

Once that was slightly brown, I tossed in a diced tomato and some vodka sauce I had lying around.

By the time I was done with this, the squash was cooked to perfection!
Look (excusing the icky pan)!

The squash should be kinda squishy at this point.  I got a little golden brown on the edges…seemed fine to me.

This next part is the fun part…take a fork and rake it along your squash…it will look like spaghetti.  Nomnomnom

Finally, toss it in a bowl with your sauce.  I added a touch of olive oil, s&p, and a sprinkle of fresh parm.

This was oh-so-tasty.  I can’t wait to try it again when I have a restocked fridge.

-M

Leave a Reply

