Current Events

Hello,

I am the type of person who likes to stay fairly aware of current events and the goings-on in the world.  However, there are chunks of time where I give up on humanity and focus my efforts inward, completely ignoring my surroundings.  The past 4 months (approximately) has been the “avoid-all-news” type of time period.  I mean, I still perused the NYTimes for headlines, but I really haven’t put much effort into making myself up to speed.

Anyway, last night I had a mindless project and decided to flip on NPR.  I got sucked into stories and news for the next THREE HOURS!  What?  Me?  I frequently tell my boyfriend that he is a grandpa because he has switched from music to NPR on his commutes to work…and now I am one of THEM.  sick.

I guess the switch for me was inevitable because I already listen to approximately 6 hours of The Current each day.  But now I can tell you all of the details of the health care bill, playground coaches, and the intimate details of last year’s famous pirate raid/US Navy takedown.  Impressive, sad, or necessary?  You be the judge.

-M

2 thoughts on “Current Events

  1. People who DON'T keep themselves informed and mentally active get CRS disease at an early onset. Don't be one of them. Besides, you're WAAYYY more interesting if you are in the know. Seriously. If you don't, I'm coming over there…

Leave a Reply

